Photo Credit Jan Garrison
For defense, offense
December 9, 2018

Two Culver Military football players were recently recognized as all-state selections by the Indiana Football Coaches Association. Coach Andy Dorrel made the announcements at the team’s annual banquet on Dec. 2.

Deontae Craig ’20 was one of just 10 underclassmen named as a member of the IFCA’s Top 50 All-State team. He was selected as a defensive end. Twenty-four defensive players were selected and only five were juniors.

Craig also received the CMA team’s Most Valuable Player honor.

Amari Curtis ’19 was named to the IFCA’s Class 4A All-State team as an offensive tackle. Curtis was the CMA offensive player of the year.

Named to the IFCA’s Academic All-State were first classmen Grant Boos, Howard Mosley III, Emmett King III, Evan Neher, Joe Kuhl, Jackson Rice, and Trent Lipsett. King was also named the team’s top defensive player; Neher was the top scholar for first classmen; Boos received the ACE (Attitude, Commitment, & Excellence) award; and Kenny Ezeadiugwu ’19 the most improved award.

Chase Frantt ’19 received the Rudy Schinderle award, which goes to the player who suffered a significant injury yet maintained positivity and commitment to the team. Eli Pack ’21 was named the New Eagle Award winner and Nick Crouthamel received the prep player ward.

Other top scholar honors went to Chris Roth and Deven Sukha for second classmen; Jack Gray, Damian He, and Mitch Lafferty for third classmen; and Brady Welch for fourth classmen.

Welch also received the junior varsity defensive award, with Mario Esquivel ’22 receiving the JV offensive honor and Sukha the ACE award.

Share This:
Posted in Alumni Athletic Awards Culver Academies Parents Sports
Related Stories