Photo Credit Jan Garrison
Fall athletes honored
December 4, 2017

Three members of the 2017 Culver Military Academy football team have been named to their respective All-State teams by the Indiana Football Coaches Association.

Brian Loudermilk ’18 has been named to the Class 4A first team as a defensive back. Amari Curtis ’19 and Deontae Craig ’20 were named to the Class 4A underclassmen squad. Curtis was selected as an offensive lineman and Craig as a defensive lineman. There are 64 teams in Class 4A.

Their selections were announced by head coach Andy Dorrel during the team’s annual banquet Sunday. This year the team celebrated its first 10-win season since 1903, finishing the year with a 10-2 record.

Ten players were also named as Academic All-State, which is sponsored by the Indianapolis Colts. Receiving that honor were Loudermilk, Michael Bocker, Kyle Dane, Tommy Polhamus, Conner Henderson, Wills Hetzel, John Houston, Jake Rodgers, Bill Kuhl, and Cade Zrelak.

Other football awards included: Team MVP, Carson Bellman; Offensive MVP, Michael Bocker; Defensive MVP, Conner Henderson; Most Improved Player, Amari Curtis; ACE Award, Brian Loudermilk; New Eagle Award, Sam English; Prep Player of the Year, Grant Boos; Rudy Schinderle Award, Alex Rivera.

Other fall sports handed out their respective awards earlier. Those receiving accolades were:

Cheer: Mental Attitude Award, Gretchen Isom; Golden Pom Award, Natalie Rioux; Culver Spirit Award, Rachael Dodson.

CGA Cross Country: Team Captain, Erin Anderson; No. 1 Runner, Marissa Rivera; Team Captain Jozie Gregg.

CMA Cross Country: Team Captain & MVP, Callaway Bird; Team Captain & MVP, Shane Pursch; Four-Year Varsity Award, Callaway Bird; Four-Year Varsity Award, Shane Pursch; Top New Runner, Jake Graham; Attitude Award, Henri Cornell.

CGA Golf: Eagle Award, Ashley Trube; Mental Attitude Award, Caroline Perea; Most Improved Golfer, Lauren Cesarski; Randall Award, Reese Wilson.

CGA Varsity Soccer: Most Improved Player, Chloe Scharfenberg; Defensive Player of the Year, Margaux McBride; Playmaker of the Year, Lindsey Stiles.

CMA C Team Soccer: Most Consistent Award, Riley Stracci; MVP, Xavier Harig.

CMA JV Soccer: Most Consistent Award, Andrew Douglass; Coaches’ Award, Maksis Brimanis; MVP, Joel Thompkins.

CMA Varsity Soccer: Most Consistent Award, Henry Zehner; Playmaker Award, Daniel Pumarejo; MVP, Andrew Terhune.

CMA Tennis JV B: Most Improved Player, Nicholas Beeson; Coaches’ Award, Jerry Wang.

CMA Tennis JV A: Most Improved Player, Baggio Jiang; Coaches’ Award, Tanner Koch; Most Valuable Player, Wes Henthorn.

CMA Varsity Tennis: Most Improved Player, Peter Gallagher; Coaches’ Award, Patrick Wilson; MVP, Jose Santiago Peraza.

CGA Freshman Volleyball: Most Improved Players, Grace Trefren and Lily Adams; Coaches’ Award, Cecilia Vincent.

CGA JV Volleyball: Most Improved Players: Michaux Tankard and Isabelle Ahlenius; Coaches’ Award, Andrea Brooke.

CGA Varsity Volleyball: Most Valuable Players: Samantha Farrall and Grace Farrall; Coaches’ Award, Abby Ericson; Most Improved Player, Madison Stevens.

Share This:
Posted in Alumni Athletic Awards Parents Sports
Related Stories