Photo Credit Jan Garrison
Sixteen teams in seven sports recognized
March 7, 2016

Student-athletes from 16 teams in seven sports were honored during the Culver Academies winter athletic banquet Sunday evening. A total of 50 awards were presented during the event.

Students receiving honors were:

CGA basketball: Junior varsity – Jean Tankard, most improved; Rylee McColly-Fleener, mental attitude. Varsity – Kingsley Cortes, most improved; Peyton Frank, mental attitude; Marie Steiner, most valuable.

CMA basketball: C Team – Johnny Cohen, offensive player of the year; Danny Baker, defensive player of the year; Trent Lipsett, coaches’ award. Junior varsity – Amari Curtis, offensive player of the year; Jordon Freeman, defensive player of the year; Wilson Bird, coaches’ award. Varsity – Ignas Masiulionis, offensive player of the year; Jake Young, defensive player of the year; Jamarrio Rule, coaches’ award.

Cheerleading: Junior varsity – Lauren Lukac, most improved. Varsity – Megan Collins, most improved; Hannah Brumback, coaches’ award; Sobe Uwajeh, most valuable.

CGA Fencing: Junior varsity – Lauryn Walker, most improved; Yunyi Hou, ACE (Attitude, Commitment, Excellence) award. Varsity – Hailey Lee, most improved; Ana Ryskin, ACE award; Bea Verrecchia, most valuable.

CMA Fencing: Junior varsity – George Cruickshank, most improved; Casey Easton, ACE award. Varsity – Drew Terhune, most improved; Ben Burns, ACE award; Daniel Hergan, most valuable.

CGA hockey: Natasha Wanless, Eagle Expectation award; Michelle Behshid, Al Clark coaches’ award; Olivia Hirschy, most valuable.

CMA hockey: Varsity B – Harrison Harm, coaches’ award; Keepher Lampert, Eagle Expectation award; Nick Gill, most valuable. U16 – Connor Merrill, Eagle Expectation award; Zach Richterman, Al Clark coaches’ award; Jackson Pierson, most valuable. Varsity A – Zach Moffett, Eagle Expectation award; John Duffy, Al Clark coaches’ award; Mischa Subotin, most valuable. Prep hockey – Rune Kirby, Eagle Expectation award; Jamie Collins, Al Clark coaches’ award; Nolan Walker, most valuable.

CGA swimming & diving: Reina Carroll, excellence in diving; Anne Marie Wright, Dearmin award.

CMA swimming & diving: Jonathan Youngs, Walaitis award (diving); Reeve Vacendak, Tyson award (swimming).

CMA Wrestling: Robert White, most improved; Adam Davis, mental attitude; Steven Muthart, Ernest A. Lausier Family and Coach Colin Stetson award.

People who missed the livestream presentation can watch it here.

Share This:
Posted in Athletic Awards Sports
Related Stories