October 21, 2014

The Culver Girls Academy and Culver Military cross country teams advanced to the New Prairie Semi-State after taking second place in their respective regional races Saturday. As was the case with the sectional, Culver finished behind Warsaw. Culver Academies again hosted the first two rounds of the tournament action.

For CGA, junior Stephanie Ma (Indianapolis) led the team with a 10th place finish, covering the five-kilometer course in 20:49. Senior Olivia Martinez (Lowell, Ind.) finished 11th just four seconds behind. Junior Annie Shea (Culver) was CGA’s third runner, finishing 14th overall, followed by sophomore Mary Terhune (Novi, Mich.) at 16th, and Junior Saga Brismar (Stockholm, Sweden) at 19th.

Each team’s top five finishers figure into the team scoring. Junior April Miltich (Jackson, Mich.) finished 23rd and freshman Brennah Ungar (Des Plaines, Ill.) finished 33rd out of the field of 56 runners.

Landrum Neer ’15 (Russiaville, Ind.) was CMA’s top runner, finishing in 16:57.1. That was good enough for 3rd place. Third classmen Justin Matei (Zionsville, Ind.) and Zach Dunlap (Barrington Hills, Ill.) both finished in the top 10. Matei came in at seventh and Dunlap was less than four seconds behind him in eighth. Shane Pursch ’18 (Plymouth, Ind.) was 22nd, followed by Jose Figueroa ’16 (San Juan, Puerto.Rico) in 23rd to round out Culver’s top five. Callaway Bird ’18 (Sturgis, Mich.) and Michael Johnston ’16 (Argos, Ind.) also ran for CMA.

The top five teams and top 10 individuals not affiliated with those teams advanced out of the sectional and regional. The top six teams and top 10 individuals at the New Prairie Semi-State on Saturday, Oct. 25, will advance to the state meet on Nov. 1 in Terre Haute.

New Prairie is in LaPorte County, which observes Central Time. The girls will run at 10:30 a.m. CT (11:30 a.m., ET), followed by the boys at 11:15 a.m. CT (12:15 p.m., ET).

 

Share This:
Posted in Alumni Parents Sports
Related Stories