Photo Credit Jan Garrison
To be used for furniture, class ring fund
May 30, 2017

The Class of 2017 presented Culver Academies with a gift of $27,913.27 during the final Academic Convocation of the school year on Wednesday. The gift, presented by class presidents Hannah Brumback and Thomas Schacht, will be used to serve two purposes.

In making the presentation to Head of Schools Jim Power, Brumback (New Albany, Ohio) and Schacht (Indianapolis) said part of the funds will be used to purchase outdoor furniture for lakeside patio of the Roberts Hall of Science and the Dicke Hall of Mathematics. The remaining funds will be used to establish a fund to assist students with the purchase of class rings.

Watch the Academic Convocation

Schacht, who is also the CMA aide to the administration, and CGA aide Molly Singewald (Farmington, Minn.) presented the Ralph N. Manuel Awards, which are given to a male and female faculty or staff member who, in the opinion of the student body, best exemplify the ideals of Culver. Lt. Col. William Farmer of the mathematics department and Ashley Paulson, assistant hockey coach and wellness instructor, were presented with the awards.

Catherine Battersby, master instructor in Humanities, was honored by Troy Shen ’17 (Chicago). Shen, who, as a Presidential Scholar, is able to select one faculty member who has inspired him during his high school career.

Chief Academic Dean Kevin MacNeil also announced that three CMA first-classmen – Shen, Alex Moser (LaPorte, Ind.), and Phillip Yang (Granger, Ind.) – were selected as National Merit Scholarship finalists. They were selected from a pool of Merit Scholarship semifinalists made of boarding school students in a 10-state region covering the Midwest. The National Merit Scholarship program begins with a pool of 1.6 million students from 22,000 high schools.

MacNeil also recognized two students will be taking a post-graduate year to participate in the English Speaking Union program. This is Culver’s 22nd year with ESU, an association of 61 American preparatory schools. ESU provides 50 scholarships for a year of studies in some of United Kingdom’s most prestigious “private schools.”

Representing Culver will be Brianna Spear (Fort Wayne, Ind.) , who will be attending Llandovery College, Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales, and Michael Wright (South Bend, Ind.), who will be attending Gigglewick School, Gigglewick, England.

Departing ESU students Miles Contreras Brown, of Hammersmith, London, and Lauren Tilley, of Cardiff, Wales, were also recognized; as was junior Blanca Jimenez Vicente, of Vilassar De Mar, Barcelona, who came to Culver through the American Secondary Schools for International Students and Teachers (ASSIST) program.

Other awards and recognitions made during the convocation included:

Mark Todd Berger Scholarship

  • Thomas Polhamus

Service Academy Appointments

  • Jacob Hare, US Military Academy
  • Zain Khodr, US Naval Academy
  • Brian Krupp, US Air Force Academy
  • Thomas Maly, US Naval Academy
  • Claire Martinez, US Naval Academy
  • Sierra Salerni, US Air Force Academy
  • Benjamin Snyder, US Military Academy
  • Victoria Styers, US Naval Academy

Doris and Everett Bernardo Memorial Prize

  • Brooke Dye

Fine Arts

  • Collins-Rea Award (Theater): Nicholas Biagioni
  • Shelley Speet Mills Dance Award: Charlotte Van Nortwick
  • Charles and Anne Duff Purchase Award (Visual Arts): Mary Terhune
  • Leonard Bernstein Musicianship Award: Charlotte Root


  • Brown University Award: Sarina McCabe and Adam Davis
  • S. Young Award: Peter Talbot
  • E.K. Cull Award: Benjamin Snyder


  • American Mathematics Competitions: James Wang
  • Rensselaer Mathematics and Science Award: Crystal Li
  • Indiana Council of Teachers of Mathematics Outstanding Achievement Award: Anna Evans and Thomas Schacht

Modern & Classical Languages

  • Burton L. Curry Award (French): Beatrice Verrecchia
  • John Fraser Roos Award (Latin): Tyler Ortman
  • Martin A. Uebel Award (German): Alexia Warnholtz Deck
  • John R. Mars Award (Spanish): Benjamin Snyder
  • Excellence in Chinese Award: Kieran Hussey


  • Raymond K. Walmoth Award: Aaron Wu
  • Walter W. Strait Memorial Award: Charles Mahoney
  • Science Medal: Alex Moser
  • Fred C. Koch Award: Devon Gadzinski


  • Wellness Education Award: Leticia Zavala Soto


The Brian M. Barefoot Social Entrepreneurship Awards:

  • First place – The Left-Behinds, Tiger Wan
  • Second place – Let Music Light Your Future, Yunyi Hou, Gary Ge, He Ren
  • Honorable Mention – Books2China, Troy Shen
  • Honorable Mention – Leche para Lograr – Benjamin Snyder, Hector Castillo, Jesus Palazuelos, Angelo Pecorelli Longo

Extracurricular Activities

  • Roll Call Award of Excellence: Ireland Irving
  • Student Activities Award: Lane Radovan

Journalism & Publications

  • Vedette Pen: Reilly Reinhold
  • Franklin D. Schurz, Jr., Award: Peter Talbot

Culver Girls Academy Awards

  • Bertha L. Jones Award: Reilly Reinhold
  • CGA Council Award: Hannah Brumback
  • Spirit of Culver Award: Victoria Anozie
  • William I. Koch ’58 Award: Victoria Styers

Culver Military Academy Awards

  • Cadet Club Medal: Troy Shen
  • The MacArthur Award: Alex Moser


  • Chittim Crop: Marshall Song
  • Outstanding Horsewoman Award: Jordan Parker
  • Fleet Cup: Justin Neely
  • Sarah Brown Pascale ’83 (Most Valuable Equestrienne): Emily Cefalu


  • Outstanding Sportswoman of the Year: Addison Coy
  • Russ & Myra Oliver Best All-Around Athlete (CMA): Jakob Young

Career Three-Sport Athletes:

  • Jordan Blackburne – soccer, basketball, lacrosse
  • Kennedy Kubica – soccer, basketball, tennis
  • Gabrielle Maiolo – volleyball, cheer, tennis
  • Nicole Maroney – volleyball, hockey, softball
  • Justin Neely – football cheer, basketball cheer, jump team, track & field
  • Preston Saddler – cheer, hockey, lacrosse
  • Allison Stathakis – cheer, hockey, softball
  • Jakob Young – football, basketball, baseball
Share This:
Posted in Academic Parents Sports Student Life
Related Stories